Conductor sizing and bonding questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

csoc64

Installing 22 panel, roof mounted system using REC245 panels and Enphase 215 micro-inverters. System is utility interactive. AC combiner box will be inside barn that panels are mounted on. From there, I have approx 290' to interconnect point. After doing voltage drop calculation (based on 20A load), I'm looking at #1 AL wire. 1. Does the code allow me to undersize my neutral conductor for this application? Also, my understanding is that I have to proportionally up-size my egc (which would be #12 cu for 20A circuit), but I'm not quite sure how to calculate the new size. Finally, looking at 690.47(A). Do I need to install a new g.e. system at the array site? If so, how is that most efficiently accomplished. Hope these questions make some sense. I'm relatively new to the industry (as well as being newly licensed), so my head is swimming a little.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
The neutral cannot be smaller than the equipment grounding conductor and unfortunately for sizes 14-10 the equipment grounding conductor is directly proportional to the upsize ungrounded conductor. Thus if you need a #1 AL conductor for power then both your neutral and equipment grounding conductor will need to be sized at #1 AL

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
The neutral cannot be smaller than the equipment grounding conductor and unfortunately for sizes 14-10 the equipment grounding conductor is directly proportional to the upsize ungrounded conductor. Thus if you need a #1 AL conductor for power then both your neutral and equipment grounding conductor will need to be sized at #1 AL