tracers

Status
Not open for further replies.

hurk27

It depends upon which one you use, I have been using the Greenlee system for about 12 years now and I cant be with out it, its like having xray eye's, it's a bit pricey but to me worth every penny. the one I have has a transmitter, that works on hot or dead power circuits, I have made many little attachments for cable, phone and network. it can even trace underground to a limited depth, but can trace for a long way through the wires themselves. Greenlee makes two models, of the one I have, one has a variable gain receiver, and one has a auto setting receiver, I have both but the manually adjusting the receiver one is the one I prefer. it allows me to find everything from buried boxes, to breakers, shorts, and cut wires. now if your talking about what we call Tic-Tracers, well there about useless IMO.
and I have used other brands that didn't work well either.

One thing I have found is because the grounds and neutrals are connected to all others circuits through the panel, before tracing I open both ends of the cable I need to trace ahead of time , this way I don't start tracing another circuit.

Cow

Occupation
Electrician
Are you asking about circuit tracers?

My Amprobe 2005 just kills it, it hits the right breaker every time. I've used it in houses, offices, a senior citizen living center, an emergency room remodel, and it never gets it wrong. I plug the transmitter into the hot recep and scan the panel. I can tell if I'm getting a false read too, the tone changes from a steady pulse to more of a constant tone if I'm scanning the wrong (sub)panel.

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor