? on 12/2 to 14/2 branch feed

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparkyjr55

I have a question if i can ask it. I had a Electric job inspected today in Louisville, Ky. As i am a small time elec contractor and i do the work. I installed a 12/2 romex from the main breaker panel to the first box, a lighting circuit, I ran this wire 12/2 through about 60 feet of attic space. So i then at the first box downsized to a 14/2 romex. And i plan on installing a 15 amp breaker in the panel.

At first the electrical inspector said i could not do this as somebody might in future years install a 20 amp breaker. I told him i was writing a little tag to install on the wire saying it was only to be installed with a 15 amp breaker.

He after looking at the small room addition job passed it and said just don,t do it again.

Am i wrong to think this is stupid. Is it anywhere in the elec code about this? Or am i the stupid one?

I thought about sending this into the NEC today to write in a passage in the NEC next addition saying this is permissible.

bphgravity

This issue has been disputed at great length on this forum.

The bottom line is that you are correct and the inspector is wrong.

This is a design consideration and exceeds the requirements of the NEC and is not prohibited by the NEC.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I agree with Bryan, but I sure am pleased when the E/C does mark such circuits.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Jr., welcome to the forum! :smile:

An alternate for the future would be to splice a length of #14 onto the #12 a few inches inside the panel.

Rewire