Any generator troubleshooters out there?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sfav8r

One of our clients has an old (approximately 25 years) standby generator, It is an Onan 3-phase that runs on natural gas. The problem is, that approximately 15-45 seconds after start-up the 20a breaker on the cover trips and the unit stops putting out power. I believe it may be shutting down due to over-voltage because the voltage meters get over 250 volts prior to shut down. However, I'm not positive that's it and wouldn't know where to begin to correct an over voltage.

I have no experience with generators and am looking for someone to point me in the right direction or perhaps recommend a local guy that knows the old generators. The customer is aware that the unit will have to be replaced before too long, but they have a lot of hurdles to get through with the city due to diesel storage etc that will be required when the replace it.

Thanks

ultramegabob

I am not a generator tech by a longshot, but is the engine idleing at the correct RPMs? that would be the first thing I would check, also try contacting Onan and talk to the tech dept. maybe they can help you over the phone.

zog

One of our clients has an old (approximately 25 years) standby generator, It is an Onan 3-phase that runs on natural gas. The problem is, that approximately 15-45 seconds after start-up the 20a breaker on the cover trips and the unit stops putting out power. I believe it may be shutting down due to over-voltage because the voltage meters get over 250 volts prior to shut down. However, I'm not positive that's it and wouldn't know where to begin to correct an over voltage.