service entry question

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello all. i am an architect and some questions have arose as i help a client finish her remodel.

The service originally went to a semi-attached garage located on the south side of the property. The meter and panel were both located here, and wires were fed to the house through attached attic.

The client has redesinged the house and the new service panel will be located in the house, also on the south side of property.

The meter will be moved to the north side of the house , and wire will be run 40ft in an unfinished crawlspace to the new service panel. The power companies pole is on the north side of the property so it makes more sense to move to meter to the north side. We were also having issues in regards to clearance to house/windows if we put new meter on the south side. Suffice it to say the meter had to go on the north side

2 trusted electricians have given estimates in regards to the project. They are essentially the same with one exception.

electrician A wants to put a main breaker at the meter and treat the service panel as a sub panel. This is the costliest method as water mains etc etc are on the other side of the house. he says he must wire the panel differently.

electrician B does not wish to put a breaker at the meter. He wants to run the wire from the meter to the service panel. he says that it is an unfinished/unimproved crawlspace and the breaker at the meter is unneccasary.

In this part of the country inspections are done by private companies. Both of these gentleman have been in business many years, and have no doubt both could get there work approved. However the client is now worried that plan B while cheaper, is dangerous.

what do you think?

Teaspoon

hello all. i am an architect and some questions have arose as i help a client finish her remodel.