Uk Engineer trying to understand US system

Status
Not open for further replies.

AdrianWint

Hi All,

I'm an electrical engineer working in the UK for a company that makes educational teaching products. We have just begun to export equipment into the US.

The reason for this post is to ask for your assistance in verifying & extending my knowledge of the electrical system in the US.

It is my understanding that, unlike here in the UK, you have a variety of different voltage & phase configurations offered for electrical service. Perhaps the most common being the "residential" service, which is presented as a three wire service (hot, hot & neutral) with 120V between hot & neutral and 240V between hots. This is a single phase service with the two hots being opposite ends of the same winding, the neutral being the centre tap.

A more commercial service would be a 3 phase 4 wire service, consisting of three hots (phases), each 120 deg apart & a neutral. Between any Hot & neutral is 120V, between any two hots is 208V.

How am I doing so far?

Adrian

jeremysterling

This is a single phase service with the two hots being opposite ends of the same winding, the neutral being the centre tap.

Both of the nominal systems you describe are common offerings of our local utility, Austin Energy.

The only difference is that, here in Texas, we center-tap the winding.:grin:

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
The two systems you describe probably cover a large percentage of the commercial/residential services.
Add 480Y/277 (big brother to your 208Y/120) and you have covered a huge percentage of the commercial.
The remainder is a mixture of 240/480/600/2140, etc systems for industrial.

mpoulton

Hi All,

I'm an electrical engineer working in the UK for a company that makes educational teaching products. We have just begun to export equipment into the US.