What Size Conductor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpd

This is something I have to say is very hard for me to determine as a plans examiner. We do not get to see the end result and 100% of the engineers we deal with will not break this factor down and since I know very clearly what MY paycheck covers versus what an engineers paycheck covers....I will always ask them the question and 100% of the time their response back to me is.....No Mr. Abernathy, the nonlinear loads are less than 50%. So I have to take them on face value since they put their licensed professional engineering seal on it...and I am no engineer.

i know what you mean paul, they are the design expert all you can do as a plan examiner is ask as many questions and make them show it on plans

radiopet

i know what you mean paul, they are the design expert all you can do as a plan examiner is ask as many questions and make them show it on plans

Yep...what gets to me is just last week I did one set for review and found over 100 errors. Wrong conductor sizes, many EGC's grossly undersized and you name it....wrong size GEC's from XFMR's and so on. I get this almost on a daily basis and would say my plan review passing rate is about 10% pass on the first review.

When I send my comments to the engineers I always get the same thing.."Thanks Paul for the comments, we will correct them right away and re-submit".....I honestly feel like a "PUNCH LIST" provider most of the time....very frustrating.

Just so you know.....My building official says I am overly critical and anal on my reviews. But also know he points fingers alot if someone gets something wrong also so go figure. You would think he knew this when he hired a code guy to do their plan review...lol

Last edited:

ohmhead

Ohmhead,

Well 3/0 CU is good for 200A and (2) sets would give you 400A capacity so I don't see him as wrong. Just decided to parallel them versus running a 600 KCMIL.