WI Masters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alfie

I?m looking for advise on study materials for WI Master. But First my background is much different than most of yours. I was a Journeyman Lineman in WI. for 15 years with a utility. I left the company after a severe case of frostbite. The company doctor ordered them to not allow me to work outside below 32 degrees. I can function just fine but the doctor erred on the side of caution. This turned a very enjoyable job to something I couldn?t bear. I left the company and got in with the city as a maintenance electrician. The pay is terrible but it?s the kind of work I love. The only way the pay would get decent is after many, many years (it?s union but not IBEW).
I want to go out on my own. As a lineman we never had to even pick up a code book. So I never went through an apprenticeship like yours. Back in 82 we had to put ourselves thru line school before we could even apply at a utility. I?m finding the code book 100?s of times worse than learning phase angles. or any transformer bank. Or maybe my age has a small part to play, I?m 51. I have been studying the code book for a year and a half. I?ve taken a class put on by our local inspector. It was very informative. I thought I was ready to take the Masters test 3 times. But was rudely brought down to earth. It?s not so much the formulas. It?s the wording.
To be able to bid on any local, city or state jobs I absolutely need my license. I know there would be many more bridges to cross. But for now the first step is to pass that test. Any advice ?

westernexplorer