Trenching and plowing

Status
Not open for further replies.

fourteen/two

Looking at a job to install a 120v receptacle by a outdoor sitting area for low volt lights. The receptacle will be located 250' from the house.

The lawn is sodded and nicely taken cared of, so I'm not looking to turn the job into a landscaping project.

A vibrating plow looks like it would be a good fit for the job. But I have no experience with them.

Would the plow work for installing UF cable or conduit?

Or should I dig a proper ditch and tell the owner I'm not responsible for repair the sod and getting the lawn back to orginal condition?

I'm open to any other suggestions or similar experiences you made of had.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
There's also horizontal boring, which doesn't affect the surface except at starting and ending points (plus intermediate points over a certain distance.)

thats a long way and a lot of work for just a single 120v receptacle...
upsell. the cost for more/heavier wire and some more hdwr will be negligible.

maybe there is a three point route rather than a straightline to sell him on?
with a drop at the mid way spot (shed building down along the fence?)
then turn into the yard from the side to get power to the sitting area
and not tear up as much sod right in the middle of the lawn

bpk

A past contractor I worked for had a small Vibratory plow. It was much better and faster than trenching. As long as the ground wasnt really soft it left very little evidence of burying wire. At some rental centers around here you can rent them for about 260$ a day, but they are well worth it. In average soil conditions you could plow 250 feet in a morning.

480sparky