Revit

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffhornsby

I was wanting a little feedback.

Revit is a drafting software Autodesk bought and is starting gain popularity. In AutoCAD you insert geometry, but in Revit insert actual objects. You build a actual 3d building were you can walk and make sure there is no interferance with other designers etc... Some CORP districts require and the district we work with is going to. We have done a couple of projects in Revit.
You can look it up on the web if you want to know more.

Anyway it does not have any families for conduit you modify the piping to simulate conduit.

How would you feel or like about the engineer laying out the conduit runs on the drawing
because Revit is going to support conduit

The Architects always say they need hurry up and support conduit, but
I was an electrician I would not want all my conduit runs specified.

That is just one more thing for you to look at the drawings wonder why did this idiot do that.

EX: We do not design restaurants but I have wired a couple, and if you have you know its alot easier runnig the homeruns in the slab because of the 8000 miles of ductwork and they want it open in 2 months, and every body on top of each other. Then the GC has them install the celing grid, and your having to run your conduit per the plans.

Smart $

Esteemed Member

Anyway it does not have any families for conduit you modify the piping to simulate conduit.
You need the MEP version for that...

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?id=6668606&siteID=123112

How would you feel or like about the engineer laying out the conduit runs on the drawing
because Revit is going to support conduit

The Architects always say they need hurry up and support conduit, but
I was an electrician I would not want all my conduit runs specified.

That is just one more thing for you to look at the drawings wonder why did this idiot do that.