utility transformers

Status
Not open for further replies.

mickeyrench

I have little expierance in this area but on utility trans where is the protection for the transformer located ? We have 6 transformers for one service and I don't see any protection anywhere , above or below. Thanks for any help here.

iwire

Staff member
I have little experience in this area but on utility trans where is the protection for the transformer located ? We have 6 transformers for one service and I don't see any protection anywhere , above or below. Thanks for any help here.

The short answer is there is none.

There will be fused cutouts or a breaker somewhere but they are not sized to protect the transformers they will be sized to protect the rest of the grid if the transformer faults.

iwire

Staff member
I have not seen an indicator light on any new tank for a long time, once in a while I will see an old unit with the light. But I should never speak about power companies in absolutes, they are all different.

Power Tech

I have little expierance in this area but on utility trans where is the protection for the transformer located ? We have 6 transformers for one service and I don't see any protection anywhere , above or below. Thanks for any help here.

Is this overhead or underground?

Underground transformers (not all) have internal fusing.

ohmhead

These trans are on the ground and lockup behind a fence. Thanks again.

Well do they look like this http://i611.photobucket.com/albums/tt195/stringking/IMG_0636.jpg

If they do look the same the HV fuses are inside the left side or the primary HV side they are snap in oil type pulled out with a hot stick.

There for the power companys protection primary side one for A PHASE one for B PHASE one for C PHASE .

They pull them out but some times you got to be carefull after a outage the oil gets real hot due to the pressure inside this can be a issue like hot oil shooting out on you but that said they have protection inside .