Electrical grounded to gas line

Status
Not open for further replies.

mommy2two

Hello,
I'm not an electrician but I was looking for some kind of answer among people who know what they're talking about. I just recently had my electrical redone by a "professional" electrician. My husband works for a local cable company and just knows basic techniques for grounding cable systems to the house ground. He walked into the furnace room and noticed the ground braid had been clamped to the gas line that runs directly into the furnace. There was also braid that was ran and clamped to both hot and cold water. The electrician who did the work claims that it is right under the NEC but I just want to know what the real deal is. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Sincerely,
Concerned homeowner

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
The jumper to the gas line is permitted but not required by the NEC. This could be a local code issue however.

kacper

The jumper to the gas line is permitted but not required by the NEC. This could be a local code issue however.

When the gas line is connected to equipment with electrical components ( furnace, generator, gas stove w/electrical spark....)and most likely there is a chance that line become energized you have to bond the the gas pipe w/ equipment ground according to table 250.122
Lokk section 250.104(B)
Other Metal Piping. Where installed in or attached to
a building or structure, a metal piping system(s), including
gas piping, that is likely to become energized shall be
bonded to the service equipment enclosure, the grounded
conductor at the service, the grounding electrode conductor
where of sufficient size, or the one or more grounding electrodes
used. The bonding jumper(s) shall be sized in accordance
with 250.122, using the rating of the circuit that is
likely to energize the piping system(s). The equipment
grounding conductor for the circuit that is likely to energize