Future of Power Engineering

Status
Not open for further replies.

W6SJK

The question was Power Engineering. Obviously you don't understand what it means.

Thanks Lazlo but I know what "Power Engineering" is. I have a degree in it, so all though I may not be an expert, I do know at least _something_ about it. I was SIMPLY pointing out that there are other flavors to designing power distribution systems that the OP might be interested in. Is that a crime?

mull982

I guess I'll clarify my OP with a little more information.

I currently have an EE degree and have been working in an industrial setting for the past 3 years. Prior to working in an industrial setting most of my undergrad work and early engineering experience was all geared towards computer, electronics, plc's etc....

After spending some time in an industrial setting I have been exposed to some pretty neat things such as very larger motors, a 4.16kV distribution system, projects with our owned utility substation, large VFD's etc...

Unfortunately I did not have exposure to this kind of stuff in school, since most everything was geared towards electronics (no power classes avaliable). I have now become very interested in such things as motor theory, power studies, and various other project that involve what I term as power engineering.

I am looking to migrate more towards this power engineering and pursure a PE with this concentration. Most if not all of what I am learning about this subject is coming from field experience however my background and degree has given me the foundation to build on when learning this field.

So I guess with my OP, when I was referring to the field of power engineering, I was talking about such things as load flow, coordination, motor applications, etc... And obviously there is a whole new up and coming field of effecient energy production with solar, wind, etc... I was asking what others opinion was on the need for engineers in this field in the future?

wirenut1980