Hvac and Electrical Extra skills

Status
Not open for further replies.

iwire

Staff member
I doubt they are looking for an electrician that can install HVAC equipment only a guy that is familiar with the control wiring of the equipment.

For example I am an electrician with mad refrigeration skills. I could not install a refrigeration system but I do know the common control systems, how they interconnect and how to troubleshoot them.

Mgraw

Occupation
Electrician
I do both. In my area a HAVC tech makes 20-25% more than an electrician. In my 35 years of doing both I have found it is easier to teach a havc guy electrical than to teach an electrician havc. I am talking about residential and light commercial.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
I think what they would be looking for is an electrician that can also deal with the refrigeration issues...that is have the license to work with CFCs. I know that the local union in Chicago offers classes to their electricians so they can get that license.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
I was roped into being a HVAC service tech when I first started out. Almost all of the work was electrical. Learned ladder diagrams & where to place the meter leads on a circuit to get the answers. Would not of had that experience wiring houses or running pipe.

Didn't pay any better per hour but I had summer work while some of the company electricians sat at home.

I would think today, it is not greater pay one is looking for, but job security.
There are not as many ECs performing control work as years ago. This could be a way for an EC to find more work as well, I call that a win-win situation for both.

iwire

Staff member
I think what they would be looking for is an electrician that can also deal with the refrigeration issues...that is have the license to work with CFCs. I know that the local union in Chicago offers classes to their electricians so they can get that license.