551-20

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a retired electrical contractor, living in Canada,and do not have a US code book.

Have an Airstream travel trailer (aluminum body) that I'm restoring. I'm starting to rewire the entire thing. It has 110 volt wiring and a converter to 12 volts for some lights, water pump etc. I have been told through the Airstream forums to NOT bond the chassis to ac ground. Also told TO bond the converter to chassis. This doesn't seem quite right to me. If a hot wire touched onto the chassis, without the chassis being bonded to ac ground, wouldn't that liven the chassis providing a serious shock hazard? The people at Airstream forums think I'm not very knowledgable electrical wise for asking such a question.

Someone at Airstream forums suggested reading chapter 551-20 IF I was a real electrician.

I don't have a code book, can someone there explain 551-20 to me?

Thanks, Retired Ron

WorkSafe

(C) Bonding Voltage Converter Enclosures The non–current-carrying metal enclosure
of the voltage converter shall be bonded to the frame of the vehicle with a minimum 8
AWG copper conductor. The voltage converter shall be provided with a separate chassis bonding conductor that shall not be used as a current-carrying conductor.
The intent of 551.20(C) is to reduce the possibility of damage to the power supply cord by large dc fault currents that may find their way back to the vehicle frame or battery through the ac grounding conductor of the converter. Metal enclosures of listed converters are provided with an external pressure terminal connector for this purpose.

Safety 551-20

Safety 551-20

Thanks Mark and Nakulak.