What would you do?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am rather new to this contracting business. I get a call last night from a woman who would like me to finish a job someone started and did not finish. Now since im just getting started i could use the work; however, My concern is how do i do this without assuming responsibility for the work this person did?

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I think you don't. If you finish the job, you own the job, and you are responsible for making sure it is all done correctly. If that requires you to spend a little extra time inspecting what the first person did, or to spend a lot of extra time fixing what the other person did, then the homeowner needs to be aware of these things, and be willing to pay for them.

Welcome to the forum.

nyhockey

I am rather new to this contracting business. I get a call last night from a woman who would like me to finish a job someone started and did not finish. Now since im just getting started i could use the work; however, My concern is how do i do this without assuming responsibility for the work this person did?

How come the other guy didn't finish?
Does the other guy have a permit on this job?
Is this person good for the money?

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager
I am rather new to this contracting business. I get a call last night from a woman who would like me to finish a job someone started and did not finish.
That, in and of itself, is not a reason to decline looking at the job. It's a prime opportunity to make a new customer for life.

Just watch your back, go slow, and communicate to the customer, to ensure that you both understand the expectations of the relationship.

The previous party didn't finish for any number of reasons:

1. They didn't know what they were doing, and got in over their head.
2. They didn't have time to finish it.
3. They didn't get paid.