220.82 dwelling unit - 80% factor apply?

Status
Not open for further replies.

malachi constant

I am an electrical engineer and recently designed a multifamily dwelling. In meeting with the contractor a question came up about loads related to unit panel sizes. Try to follow me...

Part IV of 220 allows an optional feeder & service load calculation for dwellings. I used 220.82 Dwelling Unit to determine the ampacity of a given unit. All calculated ampacities on this project were between 80A and 96A. So I sized each feeder with #1 AWG conductors, and each panel at 100A.

The contractor thinks this is an issue for some/most of the panels - that each panel needs to be sized at 125% of the calculated load. I don't see that as a requirement in Article 220 or Article 408 Panelboards. Is it a requirement?

malachi constant

Thanks. Thankfully I specified #1 AWG feeders (good for 130A) and I assume when I called out for "100A panelboards" we were going to be getting 125A rated panels 9will verify). So in this case it is a non-issue, but will keep in mind for future services.

malachi constant

Wait - after a second reading of 230.42(A) - this says we must take the calculation from Article 220 and from that add 100% of the non-continuous load to 125% of the continuous load.

So I used 220.82 to do my calcs. Should any of 220.82 be considered continuous? I would argue it should all be considered non-continuous. Is this defined anywhere? It is really hard to separate out any of the components of 220.82 and say one of them is definitely continuous. Let's take a look...

(B)(1) 3VA/sf for general lighting and receptacles - even though it includes "lighting" in the description you'd be hard pressed to say this number should be considered continuous.
(B)(2) 1500VA for small appliance branch circuit (laundry/washing machine) - not continuous.