Attention to detail on a service

Status
Not open for further replies.

Riograndeelectric

how do you get by using PVC for the nipple between the meter and main Disco?
The meter can would not be bonded to the main?
would not SEU cable be exposed to Physical damage exposed on the surface of the house?

mivey

how do you get by using PVC for the nipple between the meter and main Disco?
The meter can would not be bonded to the main?
would not SEU cable be exposed to Physical damage exposed on the surface of the house?
Why does the nipple have to provide the bonding?

mivey

Yes, I understand that but a 1/2" PVC threaded conn. needs a bushing--this I have never done before.
It does not say that. The fitting only has to provide resistance to abrasion, which a finished end may do just fine.

352.46 Bushings. Where a conduit enters a box, fitting, or other enclosure, a bushing or adapter shall be provided to protect the wire from abrasion unless the box, fitting, or enclosure design provides equivalent protection.

FPN: See 300.4(G) for the protection of conductors 4 AWG and larger at bushings.

Only for the larger conductors does protection need to be provided by something with a smoothly rounded surface.

300.5(G) Insulated Fittings. Where raceways contain 4 AWG or larger insulated circuit conductors and these conductors enter a cabinet, box, enclosure, or raceway, the conductors shall be protected by a substantial fitting providing a smoothly rounded insulating surface, unless the conductors are separated from the fitting or raceway by substantial insulating material that is securely fastened in place.

I see one requirement for abrasion protection (rough edges) and the other for protection against weight stress.

frankft2000

If SE cable is not allowed outside on a home, some inspector should go to the Maine/ New Hampshire border and pull the plug on the whole state of Maine because I bet there are at least 500,000 services done like that.

mivey