Conductor Type

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an instructor and have come across an issue with conductor type.
I have always been under the understanding that if a question is asked such as " what is the minimum size conductor needed to supply a load of 87.6 amps" that it is assumed that a THHN copper conductor is used, chosen from the 60 degree column based on 110.14(C)(1) under 100 amps

I was taught this rule 30+ years ago and took it for granted however I have recognized a couple of textbooks that seem to state that unless otherwise noted consider the conductors as THW. Of course this may possibly change some of the way that I teach this, but I was wondering if this was noted in the NEC somewhere or used for uniformity in these tetbooks. I noticed Holt slides show this and an ATP text Electrical Systems based on the 2008 NEC.

Any information is appreciated.

TT009

The way I understand 110.14 (C) (1) (a) is no matter the type of wire, you always go off the 60 degree column, unless the equipment is listed for greater than 60 degrees (ex. 75 degree lugs) or if it is a marked motor B, C, or D.

110.14 Electrical Connections.

110.14(C) Temperature Limitations.
110.14(C)(1) Equipment Provisions.
The determination of termination provisions of equipment shall be based on 110.14(C)(a) or (C)(1)(b). Unless the equipment is listed and marked otherwise, conductor ampacities used in determining equipment termination provisions shall be based on Table 310.16 as appropriately modified by 310.15(B)(6).
(a) Termination provisions of equipment for circuits rated 100 amperes or less, or marked for 14 AWG through 1 AWG conductors, shall be used only for one of the following:
(3) Conductors with higher temperature ratings if the equipment is listed and identified for use with such conductors.

TT009