3 Phase 4 wire Vs 3 wire

Status
Not open for further replies.

montericci

Hi All. I'm a little new to the electrical design world and am not school trained to do what I'm doing. My background is in Biomedical Instrumentaton. So it's 'Trial by fire.' I have one question that concerns me as I dont want contractors to get PO'd with me.
In 480V three phase systems with a generator to run parallel with utility; do I have to specify 4-wire if no 277V loads are going to be used?
There is a considerable diffence in the cost of a 3 Wire ATS Vs a 4 wire ATS and this is my reason for asking.

Volta

Hi All. I'm a little new to the electrical design world and am not school trained to do what I'm doing. My background is in Biomedical Instrumentaton. So it's 'Trial by fire.' I have one question that concerns me as I dont want contractors to get PO'd with me.
In 480V three phase systems with a generator to run parallel with utility; do I have to specify 4-wire if no 277V loads are going to be used?
There is a considerable diffence in the cost of a 3 Wire ATS Vs a 4 wire ATS and this is my reason for asking.

Do you mean "parallel with utility" as in interconnected or is this simply standby power?

If standby, will the transfer switch be service equipment?

Not likely that you need to switch the grounded conductor.

Wecome to the forum.

skeshesh

If no line to neutral loads are being served it's not really necessary to bring a grounded conductor. This is a generalization though, more detail about the system would help.

Welcome to the forum and good luck.

dereckbc

Staff member
Not enough info to answer your question. It all depends if you have 277 loads off the service or not, and OCPD topology.

templdl

There may be a misunderstasnding regarding the difference between a 3ph w/o a switched neutral and one with a switched neutral.
It would depend upon how the system neutral is grounded.