Older split bus panels

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,
I have been a "lurker" for a while on the forums. I want to say thank you to Mr. Holt, the moderators and everyone that posts here for having such a good and valuable resource available.

I have been an inside wireman in the Wash. DC area for almost 30 years. I have been a home inspector for seven years now.
I recently came across another home inspector that thinks having a single pole breaker in the upper section of a split bus panel is dangerous. I am of the opinion that as long as it does not exceed 6 hand movements to turn off the panel it is ok.

Observation; In the older split bus panels the "mains" section is designed to contain up to 6- 2 pole circuit breakers for larger appliances and equipment in a typical home. ie Water Heater, Dryer, AC etc. One of those breakers, sometimes two- depending on the manufacturer will be designated for the lower half of the panel for lighting, small appliances and receptacles. Sometimes these panels will not use all of the "Main" spaces thus leaving spaces available as "Spares" The homowner or other well meaning individual will add a single pole 120 VAC circuit breaker in the available space. If there are more than 6 hand movements required to turn off power to the panel it is obviously a violation.

Question; If it does not exceed the rule of 6, can that single pole breaker stay there or is it not supposed to be there at all. I cannot find a code reference that says it cannot be there.
I am waiting on a response from Square D , Cutler Hammer and the AHJ on this as well.
Just wondered if any of you all had come across this or had gotten written up for it.
Any help will be greatly appreciated

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Fernando, welcome to the forum! :)

Question; If it does not exceed the rule of 6, can that single pole breaker stay there or is it not supposed to be there at all.