What am I looking for is perhaps an Electrical Engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Van G.

Because of job cuts we don't have a real Electrical engineer here anymore.

Don't really know if anyone can answer this so thought I'd try here in Mike Holts forums. Excuse me I'm an Industrial Electrician for many years with an elevated position of Elect Tech since I know a bit more about computers and programs and actual programming.

Many job changes from our engineering led me into position of VB programmer on some things since I have been doing that quite awhile and everyone trying to get out cheap and let other people do 10 job's, you know what I mean.

Has been 30 years since I've been to school so I am forgetting some elements of that if you don't use you lose it somewhere in there.

Problem:
We have a test station where we check for Load Losses on the units, IE Copper Loss as some may know. I have a 12 KVA power supply feeding a 5 KVA 7 step-up multiple tap transformer testing all KVA ranges we have from 5 to 75 KVA. When this system was built all we was going to do was 25 KVA and below.

It has no problems with 25 kva and below. When it does the larger units is where we have problems. I cannot think of what is happening here. It does some with no problems but there are case where it failed 74 out of 75 of the larger range.

I don't think that it's capacitive reactance because I don't think that a transformer would have that in my mind but I'm not a transformer designer. Maybe IZ or Impedance but reactance is sticking in my head.

We do have a backup test system with a lot more HP that they easily pass back there but that's manual and takes time.

Any thoughts, suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
Agreed, need more info.

It is not clear to me what your testing for, i.e. load loss test is different then short circuit test to determine xfmr impedance.

Van G.