Neutral Ground Bond

Status
Not open for further replies.

shannonave

I am not an electrician but my job is inspection of Lightning Protection systems including earthing. I always look to see if there is a N-G bond and especially to ensure that there is one one. I find tha tthe meter base provides for a N-G bond. When this is done, I "assume" this is the only one allowed - but - then the earth and neutral should be seperately extended to the disconenct from the meter base and onto the distribution panel. If there is no meter base, the N-G bond should be in the disconnect.

Volta

...I "assume" this is the only one allowed - but - then the earth and neutral should be seperately extended to the disconenct from the meter base and onto the distribution panel. If there is no meter base, the N-G bond should be in the disconnect.

No, the grounded conductor (usually a neutral), if it exists, is always required to be bonded to the service-disconnect enclosure. An exception exists to also allow the additional connection in the meter base.

The grounding electrode conductor can be connected at any point from the service point to the disconnect.

Welcome to the forum.

Volta

And as you probably know the electrical power grounding electrode system needs to be bonded to the LP system, but cannot rely on it for the required grounding electrode(s).

shannonave

Neutral Ground bond -

Neutral Ground bond -

Thank you Volta - however,