Sub panel wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

Varczar

I am relatively new to electrical contracting and I am doing my first residential basement finishing project installing a 100A sub panel to feed the load. I am wanting to install SE wire from the main to the sub panel. I have looked in 338.10 for installation requirements. In 338.10(A)(4)(a) it points me back to part II of 334.

My total load is only 51A. My questions are:

1) Is #4 SE cable overkill for this installation? It is 70' of wire and voltage drop looks good.
2) 334.10 seems to say I do not have to install it in conduit. Is that correct?

I appreciate any responses because I just want to make sure I get this to code with no issues.

Varczar

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
You can use SE cable but it must be sized according to 310.16, 60? C column for ampacity. Also you would need SER cable which will give you 4 conductors. You said you have a 100 amp subpanel, what ampacity feeder are you trying to use?

pete m.

1. 4awg aluminum SE cable is not overkill.
2. SE cable is not required to be installed in a raceway.
3. You probably want to use SER cable though so you have an equipment ground.

Pete

Varczar

Infinity,

Thanks for the reply. It is a 200A main with 1/0-1/0-2 AL feeding the main. I have a total load on the sub panel of 51A. The sub panel is a 100A main lug

Using the two conductor with ground SER AL cable, would I not use either the 75 or 90 degree column?

Again, thanks for the clarifications, I just want to get it right.

Varczar

jumper

Infinity,

Thanks for the reply. It is a 200A main with 1/0-1/0-2 AL feeding the main. I have a total load on the sub panel of 51A. The sub panel is a 100A main lug

Using the two conductor with ground SER AL cable, would I not use either the 75 or 90 degree column?

Varczar

If you are 2008 NEC, then the 60 degree column.

raider1

Staff member
Infinity,

Varczar