Got played like a Stradivarius

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmagyar

I recieved a call from a prospective client on Saturday, one who was out of town (vacationing in Hawaii) who was having trouble with a rental property. That should have been warning enough but I played right into it. The property in question had lost one phase of the supply through the main circuit breaker, which was visably burnt (c/b) (Challenger panel). I called the renter, visited the property, took pictures, checked on replacement breakers, called SMUD,(POCO) having to wait until Monday morning to get the armored ring removed, and the county to get a permit going. Called, faxed a quote to the owner for the work at his hotel room.

Guess what the response was? "Sorry I've decided to seek another solution".
Question: how to avoid getting so screwed in the future, without becoming so jaded that I take up piano lessions so I can get work in a place of ill repute.

cowboyjwc

Staff member
I'm an inspector and my boss asked me one time how I knew a job was going to go bad. I told him that if I knew that they wouldn't go bad or I would write a book.

My point being is I don't know if you can avoid it in the future. I used to do work for this one lady all the time, and she had money, all of a sudden she's trying to haggle every bill. You just can't tell.

satcom