Underground conduits

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dustin Foelber

Good morning gentlemen
I have a project that requires us to route a 2" PVC trunk line to multiple camera locations. This conduit will house RG59 for video feed and 18/2 for 12 volt DC. We are saw cutting asphalt vehicle pathway through private party condo complex to remove and trench. Is this conduit governed by the 24" min depth req. for parking areas. Any way I can avoid this. TO go 24" would be extremely difficult in this area. I am a high voltage electrician and my LV tech does not no NEC. Any help on this one would be much appreciated
Thanks
H.I.C. Electric

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I have seen the installations at less than 24" often, and jumper may be correct, but I can not find anything in the NEC that supports it not being 24". It sounds like a Class 1 Circuit and 725.46 states that Class 1 circuits shall be installed according to Part 1 or Art 300 which includes 300.5.

I may be overlooking something and I would definitely check with your AHJ as I see installs less than 24" often.

jumper

I have seen the installations at less than 24" often, and jumper may be correct, but I can not find anything in the NEC that supports it not being 24". It sounds like a Class 1 Circuit and 725.46 states that Class 1 circuits shall be installed according to Part 1 or Art 300 which includes 300.5.

I may be overlooking something and I would definitely check with your AHJ as I see installs less than 24" often.

If this is a Class 1 circuit, I am in error. I thought this was a Class 2 circuit.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
Jumper, you very well may be correct on the Class of circuit. My expertise in Art 725 leaves a lot to be desired.
That said, can you direct me to a Code section that exempts Class 2 wiring from 300.5 ? I fail to find it.

jumper