240 and 480 volt flexible cords.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ruznic

I am not an electrician, and don't know the code, but I have some questions about code compliance and safety. I can't find anything on OSHA about this, but I think the NEC is the final authority on electrical safety, so I'm asking here.

There are 240v, 480v, and 208v three phase, and 240v and 120v single phase circuits, on flexible cord, Terminated with receptacles, suspended from a 24
foot ceiling, to a height of about 7 feet, in an industrial assembly area, for the purpose of testing and development of machinery. What rules, if any, apply to these flexible cables being run through bar joists to get the power to a
different place?

Are there any rules about the power cords from the machinery, or extension cords laying on the floor?

Are there any rules on the length of power cords on such machinery?

Thanks,
ruznic

mcclary's electrical

I am not an electrician, and don't know the code, but I have some questions about code compliance and safety. I can't find anything on OSHA about this, but I think the NEC is the final authority on electrical safety, so I'm asking here.

There are 240v, 480v, and 208v three phase, and 240v and 120v single phase circuits, on flexible cord, Terminated with receptacles, suspended from a 24
foot ceiling, to a height of about 7 feet, in an industrial assembly area, for the purpose of testing and development of machinery. What rules, if any, apply to these flexible cables being run through bar joists to get the power to a
different place?

Are there any rules about the power cords from the machinery, or extension cords laying on the floor?

Are there any rules on the length of power cords on such machinery?

Thanks,
ruznic

WElcome to the forum. It sounds like this place is used for production? If so,,,don't they plan on working next week? next month? next year? ,, then400.8(1) pretty much puts the ka-bosh on your cords on the floor.