Separate Computer Circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

Npstewart

When designing something like a medical/office occupancy, or even in just an office, do you typically use dedicated computer circuits (just general computers), or do you just connect them with the other general receptacles in the area? Ive designed and seen it designed both ways, just wanted to get some opinions.

Sometimes I put about 5 computers on one circuit however that usually amounts to a lot of circuits.

masterinbama

How many computers total do you have? If they have 5 or more I try to sell them a separate panel with 1 large UPS. I can usually show them they will save money in the long run.

Bigrig

As a designer I try to keep receptacles serving computers seperate from the general receptacles. For instance, for small offices in a building I will have the circuit serving the receptacle at the desk and back wall seperate from the receptacle at the front of the office, as I would expect that receptacle to be used by housekeeping.

Npstewart

Im not 100% positive exactly how many yet but I know its at least 15+. Ive always designed them with separate circuits however sometimes I get a lot of flack from the EC when I do that. I appreciate everyones opinion, it seems the general consensus is to keep them on their own circuit if possible.

skeshesh

I agree with Bigrig. It depends on how much information you have. A lot of clients do hire an architect or space planner so you should get a hold of em and ask for a furniture layout. Most computers have something like a 400-500W power supply so I usually go 3 comps per circuit. The conv. receptacles go on seperate circuits as Bigrig suggested. The comments regarding seperate panelboards+UPS have some merit but ultimately it depends on the occupants requirement so talk to them about how critical their data storage and down time is.

Electric-Light