safe equipment?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nolangro

Hello I am a electrical contractor in ohio, I have a customer who wants to clean up there electrical equipment, they don't want to replace any of it just unhook the unused equipment, the facility is a old ice cream manufacturing facility built in the 40's, it apperrs to have a 800 amp 3 phase service, the service pipe is 3" galvinised cloth cote 750 mcm, a cermatic werther head, it runs to a bull dog fused disconect witch in turn feeds a very large old bull dog fused switch bank of about 20 switches, I looked over this equipment and sugested to replace this old service, but they do not want to spend alot of money, I am going to take pictures of it tomorrow and will try to post them here, my concern is being able to bring this facility up to code, i do not want to start this job and find I can not bring it up to code due to the owners not wanting to spend any money , the city has all ready gotten involved and want it cleaned up., so what are your sugestions, thank you nolan

muskiedog

So is this ever going to be reused or abandonded equipment? If abandonded I think the City will want it removed not just disconnected. Do they have anything from the city stating what they want?

nolangro