DC conduit

Status
Not open for further replies.

bpark

Hey everyone. Just a quick disclaimer, I'm new to the electrical construction world and don't know all the correct lingo so try to bear with me. I may not have all my facts straight too.

Anyways

So for a conduit containing 3 phase conductors (A/B/C along with your ground and neutral) the NEC requires that you put the return path in the same piece of conduit otherwise the conduit will give off too much heat.
===== conduit top
A/B/C ->
G/N
<- A/B/C
===== conduit bottom

Here's the question
If I have 2 dc conductors i want to pull, does the return path have to be in the same piece of conduit? (like this)
=====conduit top
DC-/DC-
G/N
DC+/DC+
=====conduit bottom

forgive my lack of more information but thats the best i could explain it to my knowlege

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Might I ask what the nature of this circuit might be (i.e., for what type of facility, and what is the load)?

bpark

My supervisor said the load/facility doesn't matter. They'll size the conductors later based on the load. But most of the facilities we work with are mostly Data centers or Industrial buildings/factories.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
While there is not a technical reason that would require the all of the conductors of a DC circuit to be in the same cable or raceway, the NEC does not have an exception to 300.3(B) that would permit this.

bpark

We actually saw 300.3(B) when we were researching. Some of the guys over here say it applies to AC not to DC.

Also in a little box underneath 300.3(B), it says
"This general rule remains consistent with electrical theory; that is, to reduce inductive heating and to avoid increases in overall circuit impedence, all circuit conductors of an individual circuit must be grouped..."
So because there is no threat of heating/circuit impedence, could you say that it might be a valid exception to seperate the polarities?