lighting relay

Status
Not open for further replies.

jes63

Hi everyone, new to the site. had a ? on an ademco vista 20p panel. I am an electrician installing one in my own house. panel install went good, just wondering what would be the easiest way to turn on my security lighting when panel goes into alarm. I was thinking about using a RIB relay & output 17 via 4pin connector. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

gar

Occupation
EE
100801-2107 EST

jes63:

The items you reference mean nothing to me.

I assume that "ademco vista 20p panel" is some sort of alarm panel. What is the alarm output device? Is it a SPDT electromechanical relay? If so what are its voltage and current ratings for the contacts? Are the contacts gold plated, or maybe a sealed reed switch?

If the output is a solid state switch, then you still need to know its limitations and logic (normally open or closed).

Does the alarm contact activate and remain in that state until some explicit reset is performed?

When an alarm condition has occurred what do you want to happen? Just a light come on, dial one or more phone numbers, flash a light or lights, sound an alarm bell, and/or something else?

jes63

This is an alarm panel. I have a 12-2 romex ia a 4" sq which goes to my security lighting(350w) . all I am looking for is a relay that will be driven by my security panel. I have tried an optically isolated type relay that didn't seem to work. I was hoping there might be somebody familiar with this panel & what I am trying to do. But thanks for your input.

mivey

100801-2107 EST

jes63:

The items you reference mean nothing to me.

I assume that "ademco vista 20p panel" is some sort of alarm panel. What is the alarm output device? Is it a SPDT electromechanical relay? If so what are its voltage and current ratings for the contacts? Are the contacts gold plated, or maybe a sealed reed switch?