Life expectancy of electrical equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello folks,

Has anyone ever seen a listing of life expectancy in years of things like transformer, automatic transfer switches, capacitors, wire and cable, unit substations, distribution panelboards, breakers, lighting, etc.?

I'm looking for general information and it is assuming that everything has been working fine without problems for the last 15 years. I'd hate to state in a report that 'the average equipment life expectancy is 30 years, so you have 16 years to go before you need to start replacing things'.

I am an engineer, not a contractor, and have been assigned to do a multi-building equipment evaluation and have asked a few manufacturers if they have published general information pertaining to my question and they've all come back with "never heard of such a thing". I can understand the manufacturers not sticking their necks out for fear their equipment might fail earlier than what they publish for liability reasons.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Chiefkona1145

zog

Depends, back when we took pride in manufacturing equipment life expantancies were longer than the lowest price possible crap they make now.

I work on circuit breakers and transformers every day that were built during and prior to WWII, when properly maintained this stuff will outlast anything made by any OEM today. Circuit breakers for example used to use contact mass instead of contact pressure like they do today, mechanisms were built with steel, now they use a low grade alloy. Frames were also steel, now they are plastic.

The only things better now are insulation materials and electronic trip units/monitiors/relays. Upgrade old, built to last equipment with modern insulation materials and electronics and you have something special.

Last edited:

nollij