estimating a commercial warehouse help

Status
Not open for further replies.

gabe277

Hi everybody Im new to the contractor business and i wanted to see if maybe some more experienced members can give me some advice or tell me if im over bidding or under or riht on the money

ok the job consist of a warehouse thats about 320 ft long , ok the warehouse has four main beams that run horizontal like 30 ft up high and theres 30 poles that go from the ground up to the beam , so he wants a circulation fan on each pole .
he wanted to add 30 receptacles, one for each fan each fan is a 120 volt single phase pug in fan that pulls 3 amps fla . the poles are spaced out 30 ft apart and thers 6 fans in 2 rows and 7 in the other 2 plus a back room that has 4 fns , plus installl a 125 amp panel offf the secondary tap of a 75 kva transformer that you can splice in a gutter box that is existing

its about 1300 ft of 1/2 conduit ,i was going to put a ckt for every row so four ckts plus voltage drop and the furthest fan is about 500 ft from my 125 amp panel so i went to a number 8 for power nuetral and used # 10 for ground .

please let me know what you would bid this job at because im thinking im bidding tooo high and maybe i need to bid lower i charge 35 $ an hour and my associate at 35$ too . I used to bid jobs when i was working for an industrial we based it on time and material i did the same and the customer freaked oh yeah and not to mention the siccor lift rental is 900$ a month please post your thoughts thank you .

JES2727

You really think it's going to take two mechanics over a month to complete this job?
It should take maybe two to three weeks to do the job.
Run larger conduit, your wire pull will be easier.
Charge more for your labor.
Mark up the material and lift rental.
So all your numbers are too low, but your labor estimate is too high. The end result is probably close to where it should be.

iwire

Staff member