Table 310.16

Status
Not open for further replies.

Castrovinci

Hello,
I am going out for my liscense in oct and I thought I had table 310.16 down but now I am confused. While reviewing some code questions I ran across a question like this.

A 120/208 wye service has a computed load of 350 amps the neutral is current caring (52% non linear). The service will be installed overhead in rigid metal. What is the smallest THHN Conductor to be used.

Now where my confusion is....is (FOR NEC Testing purposes) do I use the 90 degree column of the 75 degree column? according to section 110.14c you must use the 75 degree column? I'm not sure I fully understand this section and its frustrating too me, I would imagine that in real world you would just stick to the 75 degree column for rather then 90 to be safe but my test question ask for the smallest possible not ness. what one would do in the real world.

If I have a 75 degree termination I still find my amps and derating out of the 90 degree column??

"Conductors with temp ratings higher then specified for terminations shall be used for ampacity adjustment,correction, or both"
WHAT does this mean?

Thanks for any assistance!
MrCastrovinci

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
You always have to limit your ampacity based on the weakest link in the system. Most panelboards and terminations today are rated 75C so if you have 90 C wire you are still limited to 75C because of the termination. You may use the 90C for derating purposes.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
The computed load of 350 amps does not tell me if that is the neutral computed load or the service computed load. The neutral may be as small as the GEC for the building if the computed load is that low. If it is a feeder then the neutral may not be smaller than the EGC.

Castrovinci