How long to get paid?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am fairly new to running my own business but experienced in the trade. I finished a fairly large job, for me anyway, for a customer I have known for several years. He is a large commercial property owner and in very good financial condition. With all that being said, I am 70 days out getting paid. I billed him on Aug. 13th--I called him on Oct. 1st to see if everything was OK, was my invoice OK--he said all was fine--got lost in the shuffle and he would have a check sent out the following week--so that would have been Oct. 4th --9th--nothing yet. They live pretty large and his father-in-law, who started the business, has opened a second education facility to train young people in business. I am really wondering what's going on, what do I do next? I am fully aware that if this customer typically pays in 60 days I would accept that and be prepared for that. THOUGHTS??

growler

THOUGHTS??

When does you contract call for getting paid? The time to think about payment is before you start the job and not after it's finished.

If it's a local business then I'm going to set up a schedule of payment during the job and final upon completion with very little time for payment. I don't like to leave a lot for the final payment anyway.

It really gets back to whatever was stated in the contract. How much time did you allow for the final payment?

When does you contract call for getting paid? The time to think about payment is before you start the job and not after it's finished.

If it's a local business then I'm going to set up a schedule of payment during the job and final upon completion with very little time for payment. I don't like to leave a lot for the final payment anyway.

It really gets back to whatever was stated in the contract. How much time did you allow for the final payment?