Voltage Readings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning... Please bear with me as I am new to this. Last night I was called to a agitator that when tried to start it would jerk a little and then just take off running, almost like it was single phasing at start up. The motor is controled by a AB powerflex 700 drive. The drive recieves a speed reference thru a remote I/O. When I started troubleshooting, I checked for incoming voltage, had 480 on all three line terminals, now where I get confused is that when I measured the voltage on the motor terminals I got roughly 180 volts...and to even confused me more was that the drive was running at -22.0 Hz. I always assumed that 480 in 480 out and that Hz was always a positive number. Can someone please shed some light on to this for me...Thanks

I probably should have put this in OP, but after looking at the drive/motor causing the headache, I went to two other sets of motors/drives that are the same and used for that same application. They where both displaying that they were running at -22 Hz and they both had less than line voltage at the motor terminals. All three are programmed alike. I guess whats really confusing me is the -22 Hz. I was leaning toward the drive being shot untill I started comparing voltage readings from the other two....Once again please bear with me..I am new to this and I am trying to give you all the facts...

mclassen

Most vfd's have fwd and rev for applications requiring that. In your case the display may show negative for what you think should be positive, swapping motor leads may solve the negative hertz but some reprogramming would be required.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Most drives keep the volts per hertz ratio so you should expect 176 volts on the motor when running at 22 hertz.

mxslick