air handler name plates

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky333

I have been an electrician for over 20 years and a journeyman for 16 .But I have been confused over the name plates on these new units i have been wiring. this is just an example.
208/240 volts then the ampacitys will say 35/40 for whatever heat strips are in that unit.
This is just an example with the ampacitys >my question is How Come the smaller Number is on the left Of the slash?.My knowledge has always been that at 208 Volts the amps will be larger then at 240v and vice versa. the more volts the less amps.Right ?

Just like a name plate on a motor is right 120/240v then the amps is like 20/10a just an example
or a three phase 208/480 = more/less amps

could some on please help me out with this?

jeremysterling

With a 240/480 motor the resistance of the windings changes according to how you configure the t-leads.

The resistance of the heater strip does not change even if you apply 208 or 240. Simple ohm's law. Divide the KW of the heater by voltage you are using to get the current of the heater.

The same goes for water heaters. You can run a 240V water heater with 208V supply, you will use less current and you will also get less hot water!

sparky333

i diid the calculation?

i diid the calculation?

5 kw heat strip
5000 w divided by 208 = 24.03 a
5000 w divided by 240 = 20 a which is less simple ohms law?

still confused sorry?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
what jeremy says!
The key is that the only constant you are working with is the resistance of the element.
The wattage is not constant.
If you know the element is rated say 9600 watts @240 it will pull 40 amps.
Using ohms law R=E/I you find the resistance is 6 ohms.
Similary I=E/R, so on 208 it's 34.6 (35) amps and W=E?/R or 7210 watts.
Many of the nameplates will also show that in a slash wattage rating ie: 9.6/7.2 kw

Last edited:

iwire

Staff member
This is just an example.