NFPA 70e When hot work permit required

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would like some help on a particular issue, and would like to know others practice. Do you require an 'energized hot work permit' when you are doing 'infrared scanning' of panels??? Basically you are taking the cover off, but sometimes you are taking the 'dead front' off but not all the time.

Of course in all situations the appropiate ppe will be worn. So what is the practice in this area??

raider1

Staff member
I would say that infrared scanning of electrical equipment would constitute "Testing" or "Troubleshooting" and would fall under 130.1(B)(3) and be exempt from an energized electrical work permit.

Chris

jumper

I am still learning 70E, so my answer is pretty junior grade.

Testing itself does not require a EEWP, as Chris stated.

However, the removal of covers and dead fronts is not testing, yes I know that you have to remove them first.

The question I pose is: Is the equipment de-energized prior to removal of the covers and than re-energized for testing? Or is the cover removed while the equipment is still energized?

It seems to me that there is a big difference in the procedures.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
The fundamental issue is the possibility (not probability) that a worker could “lose control” of a cover or its connectors in “normal” activities. Hinged covers, with captive connectors are considered “safe”. Bolt-on covers are not.

iwire

Staff member
As a mater of company policy we fill out hot work permits anytime an employee is going to be exposed to live parts. This includes IR scans

I am still learning 70E, so my answer is pretty junior grade.

Testing itself does not require a EEWP, as Chris stated.

However, the removal of covers and dead fronts is not testing, yes I know that you have to remove them first.