Central Vac System

Status
Not open for further replies.

LLSolutions

Hey guys, this one's for my house. I have a few walls open and I am considering adding a central vac system. I've never done one before, but it looked semi-easy. Any brand preferences? My supply houses all seem to carry nu-tone systems. Layout considerations? 2 story house about 40x25 each floor. I don't want to need a 45' hose, but i also don't think i should have an outlet in each room.

frankft2000

A lot of vacs have a 30' hose. Take a 30' piece of string and make sure you can reach every part of the house from a inlet.

Buck Parrish

Yeah the average is 30 ft.
More importantly. Do you need a 120 volt motor on the vacume or just let the air turn the brushes.

I guess you know you can get one that plugs in to a wall outlet for 120 volts. Or you can run the 120 volts as you would the LV wire. So when you plug in the hose the 120 volt motor will cut on and the down stairs vacume, too.

Most people I've done them for just get the one that sucks and is turned on by LV wire. Thier pretty easy to install. Even in an existing home. You'll have more coupligs. But that not a big deal as long as the pipe is going the right direction.
Also use 90 sweeps instead of L'S
Your wife will love you if you get what they call a kick plate. You mount it under a kitchen cabinet. You kick it ( easy) and the vac turns on and the opening is about 12 inches.
Perfect for sweeping kitchen debris.

Only other thing if you use plumbing pipe be sure to use the purple stuff, too.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I installed a nutone system in my home many years ago, It works fine, Installation is pretty easy es. with a crawl space. They also make retro jacks which I used since my walls were finished when I did it.

Be careful with the pipe it is very thin and brittle esp. when cold- drop it and the pipe is no good.

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member