lighting and receptacle breaker tripping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ravenvalor

A 5 - year old home has a lighting and receptacle circuit tripping a circuit breaker. The breaker is 15amp and not an arc-fault. Since it is only doing it once daily I would like to find or develop some machine that will locate the assuming short. When I get to the home it will not be tripping therefore I need to find a short that is not occuring in my presence.
I am an electrical contractor who has been fixing these types of problems for 24 years. Usually I have to check every accessible part of the circuit including the appliances. I am wondering if there is a theorem associated with ohm's law that will enable me to calculate varying voltages and amps at each outlet to reveal the short.

Thanks,
Jim

kwired

Electron manager
A 5 - year old home has a lighting and receptacle circuit tripping a circuit breaker. The breaker is 15amp and not an arc-fault. Since it is only doing it once daily I would like to find or develop some machine that will locate the assuming short. When I get to the home it will not be tripping therefore I need to find a short that is not occuring in my presence.
I am an electrical contractor who has been fixing these types of problems for 24 years. Usually I have to check every accessible part of the circuit including the appliances. I am wondering if there is a theorem associated with ohm's law that will enable me to calculate varying voltages and amps at each outlet to reveal the short.

Thanks,
Jim

I already have a machine that helps find this kind of problem. I call it megohmeter.

480sparky

Divide the circuit in half, take it apart at that point, then see if the problem still occurs.

If it does, start working back towards the panel. If not, work away from it.

Take the half that's known to have the problem, and divide it in half again.

Repeat as necessary.

kwired

Electron manager