how to learn estimating

Status
Not open for further replies.

DW98

Looking for suggestions on best way to learn to prepare electrical estimates - outside of going to work for a contractor which would be best way. I'm an electrical engineer for a consulting company and have access to RS Means. I'm looking to better understand cost of my designs for personal knowledge and to accurately provide estimates for owner and to properly evaluate contractor change order requests. Any suggestions, helpful hints, recommended estimating handbooks are appreciated. Thanks.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
Looking for suggestions on best way to learn to prepare electrical estimates - outside of going to work for a contractor which would be best way. I'm an electrical engineer for a consulting company and have access to RS Means. I'm looking to better understand cost of my designs for personal knowledge and to accurately provide estimates for owner and to properly evaluate contractor change order requests. Any suggestions, helpful hints, recommended estimating handbooks are appreciated. Thanks.

You might try, let's see.... the owner of this forum! Mike Holt's Electrical Estimating.;)

cdslotz

I'm not familiar with Mike Holt's estimating publications, but I've heard good things about it.
RS Means will only get you close on the very high side (if that make sense). Too many variables, like region, labor force available, volatile commodities, etc, that are all moving targets so a once-a-year RSM book can't keep up.
Any accurate estimating starts with knowing REAL costs. Real cost can only be determined by old school nut & bolt takeoff. Every material item with associated labor units (published), and expenses for a particular job must be taken off and priced.