HUD vs NEC

Status
Not open for further replies.

kbsparky

I have extensive experience hooking up mobile homes. Most of these are HUD certified, and have a metal nameplate affixed on the outside designating such.

It has been my understanding that HUD homes may not necessarily have to comply with the latest NEC requirements. One example is the arc-fault circuit interrupter requirements contained in section 550.25(B).

The NEC Handbook notes that this requirement does not supersede the current HUD 3280 requirements for factory-installed wiring in manufactured homes.

Usually, when I hook up a mobile home, I am only dealing with the service pedestal and feeder cable connections. Today, I had an inspector require that AFCI circuit breakers be installed for the bedroom outlets.

Now, I am caught between the manufacturer of the home who states that HUD trumps the NEC, and refuses to pay for any changes. The inspector is just as stubborn, holding up the job until those changes are made. I have not had a chance to talk with the chief inspector on this matter, and will point out the paragraph in the handbook mentioning the HUD 3280 requirements. I figure once that point is made, the job will pass ....

Have you had any problems with this type of thing?

sweetcav

We have installed some arc fault in Doublewides but the dealer was paying for it when the house was ordered. HUD uses 2005 NEC with there own amedments

ceb58

In my dealings with Mobile homes as long as there is the HUD sticker in place and you have only installed the feeders to the panel the inspector cannot inspect anything passed the main breaker in the distribution panel. Unless you have done remodeling or additions to the home.

hurk27

HUD is Federal, which trumps state, which trumps local law, Follow the chain of command.