Service for house with attached apartment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Legrand

So, I got a call on Sat. The tree trimmers caught the tri-plex, ripped the transformer half off the pole, and destroyed two service risers on a home with an attached apartment. Now I have to install one new riser go to a junction box, split to two meter cans with disconnects and re-feed the home and apartment. I'm not sure exactly how to do this, as I have never done this before. If someone could critique my plan I would greatly appreciate it. I have not done a load calc on the home or apartment, but I plan to install 100a meters and disco's to each. 120/240

2" IMC Service riser
2/0 service conductors 200a
LB into side of 6"w x 24"L x 6" deep gutter
2 runs of 1" EMT to the 125a rated Meter/Disco's w/#4 wire 100a
3 #4's w/#8 ground wire from load side of disco to feed each of the house and apartment panels #8 ground wire does not seem right, I'm not sure where to size that I used 250.122
2 8' ground rods #4GEC
#4 running to water pipe
Intersystem bonding terminal somewhere in there

I'm not sure how to go about my main bonding jumper, I suppose the GEC needs to run into both disco's?
Do my service conductors need to be rated at 200a?
I'm not sure if the emt is will be and effective fault path from the riser back to the disco if they're ringed knockouts on the meter/disco maybe just a grounding locknut inside the meter?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
why are we re-inventing the wheel ? Why not just go back with the two risers ?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation