400amp Residential Service

Status
Not open for further replies.

garwayne

Hi,

I'm a newbie. Thanks much for this web site and forum, after poking around some it looks very well done and extremely useful.

Residential NEC is not my expertise, and I've seen several discussions relative to my question but not sure i saw any definitive answers. Here is my question:

Upon taking the advice of our local utility while constructing my house, I have mounted a SqD 400a Meter Combo box on a couple of 6x6 treated posts near the pad mount xfmr location with the intention of running the 2 - 200amp breaker circuits to either a 400a MLO or 2-200a MLO load centers located in my utlity room space. The inspector came and said nope, per 225 can't have these two feeding the same building, but If i want I can move the very same panel to the wall of the house and now everything is ok. I'm not buying it. I've poked around a bit and seems this not an uncommon arrangement. What's the story here? If the consensus is that this is ok, is there any ammo I can use with my inspector?

Thanks much in advance for any help anyone can offer up.

Gary

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Sorry, I agree with the inspector. 225.30 limits you to one feeder (with some non-applicable exceptions)
By definition your 400 amp meter is a "structure" and the house becomes a second "structure".
Move it to the house and all is on one structure.

iwire

Staff member
The inspector is correct.

II. More Than One Building or Other Structure

225.30 Number of Supplies. Where more than one building
or other structure is on the same property and under
single management, each additional building or other structure
that is served by a branch circuit or feeder on the load
side of the service disconnecting means shall be supplied
by only one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in
225.30(A) through (E).
For the purpose of this section, a