Sizing grounded electrode conductor

Status
Not open for further replies.
First post for me so be gentle. I have been a licensed electrician for 20 yrs and have just decided to get my Masters, don't ask why:happysad: Anyway I am taking a correspondence course at home for the 45 hour requirement and am having brain cramps about figuring out grounded conductor, main bonding jumper, grounding electrode conductor sizing. Below is an example of a question in the book.

Determine the minimum size Cu grounded conductor required for a 120/208 V 3 phase 4-wire service which consists of two parallel 1/0 AWG THW Cu conductors per phase.

Now I have looked over 250.66 and 250.24 c (1) and chapter 9 table 8

A couple of things confuse me one being the question stating (2) parallel 1/0 conductors, and the other being in chapter 9 table 8 where the wire size is in mils.

I know if I had if I had 3 phase 4-wire 480/277 service with three 500 Kcmil Cu THW conductors per phase

per 250.66 500x3= 1500 Kcmil
per 250.24 1500Kcmilx12.5% = 187500 cm
Ch 9 table 8 187500cm=4/0 AWG THW Cu

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
In your first example just take the kcmil area of the 2-#1/0 and add them together, then look in 250.66 for the GEC size.

In your second example you came up with #4/0, a GEC is not required to be larger than #3/0 {250.66} in some cases not larger than #6 (ground rods) or #4 (CEE's).

Welcome to the forum. :)

My bad.

The title should not say Grounded electrode conductor it should say grounded conductor (neutral)

And why in the first example would I be using the Kcmil area of 2 1/0 conductors and not 4? There are two parallel conductors 1/0 which would be a total of (4) 1/0 conductors per phase in a 3 phase system? Or am I reading that wrong? This is what drives me NUTS!

Last edited:

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor