rewiring of historic residence

Status
Not open for further replies.

malachi constant

I'm an engineer who has been hired by an architect to create bid documents for remodeling of a historic residence. For what it's worth I worked in the field one summer and have since rewired my 1920s era house (which was all in conduit!).

The residence in question is 1940s era, upper midwest part of the country. Most of the branch circuits do not include a ground. It appears the wiring is predominantly 2-wire, cotton-braid insulation, in some sort of flex cable. The cable appears too tight to pull wires through.

From my own experience I know it is not too difficult to get new NM fished up through walls from the basement to the first floor interior walls.

Again from my own experience I know it is rather difficult, but still possible, to fish NM cable from the basement up to a receptacle on a first floor exterior wall. So QUESTION #1: is this a recommended approach? As a contractor, would you refuse to fish up this way due to the absurd amount of effort required? Any suggestions?

The residence has a second floor, but does not have an attic. It does have crawl spaces on either side of the second floor. I'm really not sure how to get at some of the second floor devices without tearing open a wall or using wiremold (surface raceway). QUESTION #2: any thoughts on how to get to these devices?

Generally speaking if you have pointers I'd love to hear them. The building has been abandoned for a little while, long enough to create one of the dampest, moldiest basements I've ever seen. The panel and all basement wiring is coming out. In only makes sense to try to upgrade all the wiring upstairs while I'm at it.

I suppose I am going to have to get a hold of the local inspector, and maybe also get an electrician to do some field investigation. I'd like to have done a little research beforehand.