I am STUMPED!!!HELP ME !! (please)

Status
Not open for further replies.

grab1

I have been an electrical contractor for 8 years, in the business for almost 20 yrs, today I got stumped. I have a 120/240 v single phase panel, there is a 2 pole main breaker on the top of the panel. When I turn on one of the branch breakers, the a phase of the main breaker drops to 20 volts. I spent hours troubleshooting this and I cant get a grasp on what is happenening. When I turn the branch breaker back off, I get 120 v on the a phase, lwt me know what you think before I quit the business and become a plumber!

Volta

It might be that the A leg is not energized from the line side of the main.

Have you read 240 across the main?

It may be the voltage from B leg through the water heater or similar restive load.

Welcome to the forum.

growler

I have been an electrical contractor for 8 years, in the business for almost 20 yrs, today I got stumped. I have a 120/240 v single phase panel, there is a 2 pole main breaker on the top of the panel. When I turn on one of the branch breakers, the a phase of the main breaker drops to 20 volts. I spent hours troubleshooting this and I cant get a grasp on what is happenening. When I turn the branch breaker back off, I get 120 v on the a phase, lwt me know what you think before I quit the business and become a plumber!

Well I'll take a stab at it and if I'm wrong it won't be the first time.

I would assume that when you turn on one of the branch circuit breakers you are putting a load on the phase that drops to 20 volts. If that's what happening then I would assume there is a really poor connection somewhere on the line side of the main breaker ( meter base or weather head ). This would act as a resistor and there would be a huge voltage drop under a load. I am thinking this because a meter doesn't put a load on the circuit and when you do possibly put a load on the circuit you read almost nothing.

hurk27