Terminology regarding "Loads"

Status
Not open for further replies.

RonEl

I'm not sure if this is the correct topic heading for this question .... it's more a question of Basic Education as opposed to "Continuing Education". Please be kind, this is my first time posting a question.

As an Interim Plans Examiner I'm trying to get versed in use of, and understanding, the Electric Code. I will need to eventually take, and pass, the exam. I've ordered Mike's "Understnding the NEC" but haven't yet gotten very far into it. But in the course of doing my job, I'm trying to learn and familiarize myself with the code as best I can.
I can tell that my first problem is with terminology ... I have 2 questions (1 general, 1 more specific):

1. What is the best way to familiarize myself with the vast and very specific terminolgy used throughout the NEC?

2. While reviewing plans, I've noticed that many times the engineer/architect will list "Connected Load" and "Demand Load". So, when sizing conductors (I think I've learned they are not 'wires'), what is the relationship (if any) between 'connected/demand loads' vs. 'non-continuous/continuous loads'? The definition of "Continuous Load' in Chapter 1 does not seem to help.

If there is a better category for questions like this, please advise.
Thank you for sharing the vast amount of knowledge contained by the members and moderators using this forum!

al hildenbrand

Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Consultant, Electrical Engineer
Welcome to the Forum !

Whew! For a beginner, that is an advanced question.

It's like starting to study Spanish for the first time so that one can write a poem (in spanish) to win the heart of another.

I know, after 30 years I'm still learning the lingo.