conduit bend radius

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just to set the stage, I'm an engineer and not a contractor/installer:

My question is ... how do you measure the radius of a 90 degree conduit bend? Do you measure it the same as you would the radius of a circle or do you sort of measure the circumference of the bend?

I ask because I'm working with a spec that calls for 18" radius on 90 degree bends and the contractor has installed bends that either have a radius of 8" (if I measure radius the same as on a circle) or 18" (if I measure the circumference of the bend). The contractor insists that trades measure the circumference and I'm extremely skeptical.

Last edited:

renosteinke

Well, you just stepped in the doo-doo pile.

Field bends are made with tools. Factory bends are made with tools. The NEC seems to refer to two measurements: to the inside of the bend, and to the centerline of the bend- but nobody actually measures them. The bend is determined by the bending shoe, and we assume that it is correct- and as tight as we can go!

tkb

You measure the radius of the bend the same way as you measure the radius of a circle.

If he used standard bending shoes he will not get the radius you specified unless he has done segmented bending.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
You measure the radius of the bend the same way as you measure the radius of a circle.

If he used standard bending shoes he will not get the radius you specified unless he has done segmented bending.

I agree with Tim, the EC has not followed the contract documents and should be made to correct the installation.

Roger

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems