conduit bend radius

Status
Not open for further replies.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Just to set the stage, I'm an engineer and not a contractor/installer:

My question is ... how do you measure the radius of a 90 degree conduit bend? Do you measure it the same as you would the radius of a circle or do you sort of measure the circumference of the bend?

I ask because I'm working with a spec that calls for 18" radius on 90 degree bends and the contractor has installed bends that either have a radius of 8" (if I measure radius the same as on a circle) or 18" (if I measure the circumference of the bend). The contractor insists that trades measure the circumference and I'm extremely skeptical.

I would be measuring them from the centerline of the conduit. Take a tape measure and run it on the bend along the centerline of the conduit. If it is an 18" radius bend, the bent section will be just over 28" long.

In any case if they are already there and the wire is pulled, it seems pointless to replace them. Maybe a bit of a rebate for not following the spec.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
I read what it says, but my back and arms do not believe.
My experience with very long radius bends and small conductors is that the pulling force required seems to be greater than with a standard radius. The amount of friction is a function of the sidwall pressure, the coefficient of fricton and the length of the inside radius of the bend. While a longer radius has less sidewall pressure, the inside radius length is longer. The friction remains approximately the same.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired